La lecture quotidienne

Do say gay: LGBT sexuality isn’t the problem – bigotry is

In English on 2011/06/06 at 13:52

Growing up being different is not easy. This is especially true in schools: signs of weakness or difference attract bullies like ugly moths to the light. This is especially true for LGBT students, who are statistically more likely to be bullied.

I was unlucky enough to be one of these lights, and a very attractive one at that – I wear glasses when I’m working, I’m a geek, I have a funny accent and I’m attracted to other women. I’ve left that treatment behind permanently, but I’m all too aware that there are other students who still have to endure this abuse. I’ve even encountered some shocking homophobia in conversations with older people. I won’t dissect the sentiments in detail, but I will say that it involved aliens and abandoning a certain demographic on their planet.

via Do say gay: LGBT sexuality isn’t the problem – bigotry is | Emily Band | Comment is free | guardian.co.uk.

Leave a Reply

